Some Stuff I’ve Been Reading

21 Feb

This is going to be a semi-regular topic here, since every now and then I stumble-upon (or am made aware-of) a great blog or other outlet.  In no particular order, here’s some that I’ve been enjoying lately (note: this is by no means an exhaustive list, although at 230am I am a bit exhausted, that’s besides the point).

http://www.simoleonsense.com/

Not for the faint of mind.  Smart, seriously.  Big on behavioural finance, and several other complex subjects.  I wouldn’t suggest ignoring this blog.

http://www.twitter.com/waynemarr

Wayne is one of the founders of SSRN.  If you don’t follow him on twitter you are officially out of the loop.  I shit you not, there’ve been nights where I’ve spent several hours and stayed up WAY too late reading all of the fantastic papers he brings to my (and your!) attention.  Those of you who know me know that I don’t kiss ass EVER, as a matter of principle, but for serious, SSRN is an amazing resource (and free, except that PoS they call NBER, but I digress), and Wayne is pretty much the curator.

http://fridayinvegas.blogspot.com

Despite still using blogger (who does that?), Kid Dynamite is a smart motherfucker.  I mean math degree(s) and algo trading BSD.  Shockingly, you’d never know it if you met him; he’s totally cool, especially for a (semi-)quant, and his analysis/perspective is NOT  to be missed.  I’ve been reading his work for quite some time, but some of his recent work is quite excellent.  Reg FD: We’ve met/spoke.

http://www.clusterstock.com

I know, I know; the headlines are sometimes absolutely sensational and/or have little/nothing to do with the actual post, etc, etc blah blah yea I’m just as big of a critic as anyone else.  HOWEVER, once you take all of the obvious shortcomings/whatever in-stride, there’s alot of good info I’ve gotten from the Business Insider group of sites.  Carney, Weisenthal, and Vinezani are sharp guys, and while you can debate their approach, I think you ignore the site at their own detriment.  I shit you not, there is some quality information there.  FD: I’ve met/spoke with these guys.

http://www.wlmlab.com

If you, like me, are WAY too lazy to download, aggregate, and process the FDIC bank loan book data, this is 100% the site for you.  Ideally, data would be real-time, but that’s a criticism of our “regulatory” regime, not the the website.

That’s it for tonight.  Remember, this is NOT an exhaustive list, just a few that I’ve read this week and thought were worth mentioning.  If your site isn’t here, don’t fret, you’ll probably end up in one of these posts (and on our blog roll once we get around to populating it).

Cheers,

Anal_yst

3 Responses to “Some Stuff I’ve Been Reading”

  1. Bulging Bracket February 22, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    Good links.

    Clusterstock/BI is pretty good as an aggregator. They don’t have the community of old school Dealbreaker – more like a Ron Paul rally. DB’s community isn’t what it was, but still far above BI. But it is so, so hard to keep a good community running, as we both know.

  2. Anal_yst February 22, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Gracias, and agreed.

  3. Letsure February 27, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    When I discovered this blog I had a tremendous urge to kick myself in the face to make sure I wasnt dreaming. I rolled back from the screen and walked around my department with a big smile on my face. I was in such a good state of being that I asked out this girl from the espresso bar that I like. Posts like this punch all others straight in the balls.

Leave a Reply

