Mary Schaprio: Computers? We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Computers!

25 Feb

All I’m saying is that if I ran the SEC, my desk would look nothing like that of current SEC Chairwoman Mary Shapiro (pic via dealbreaker).

NO COMPUTER?!  No dual + monitor setup with streaming level III quotes, Bloomberg, etc?   Sure, Mary’s a bureaucrat and all, but WHAT THE HELL?!  Fellow Finance professionals, tell me, if you were at the helm of the SEC your desk wouldn’t look something like Adam Sender’s:

Hell, if I ran the SEC my office would look like the freaking Nasdaq market site!

Sure, the SEC has plenty more to worry about than high-tech global trading markets (not to mention there’s allegedly a division to handle such things), but hell, I had more computing power and information access on my desktop in the mid 1990’s, 18.8 baud modem and all!

2 Responses to “Mary Schaprio: Computers? We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Computers!”

  1. Jay @marketfolly February 26, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    I was pretty surprised she didn’t have a monitor when I saw that pic too. Welcome to 2010? The SEC is apparently TOO old school.

    • jeff February 9, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

      Why is it there is virtually no information on Level 3 trading software…and no screen shots on the internet?

      As for the SEC…what a choice job!

Leave a Reply

